Falling Feet First



I’ve arrived (and already followed Jesus…)

We arrived in Tel Aviv this afternoon around 2:30pm local time, with a brief foray in Rome. (Not impressed with the Rome airport or the flight staff of Alitalia – more on that later). We met up with two of our fellow travelers from Minnesota and made our way to Jerusalem in a van driven by an Arab man named Mohammed.

Our hotel for the first two nights, Holy Land Hotel, is right in the middle of East Jerusalem, which is primarily a Palestinian area (although there are Jewish neighborhoods here as well). From the window in my hotel room, I can see into the “Old City” and the famous gold dome of the Rock of the Dome, an area sacred to both Jews and Muslims. Simply gorgeous. Old City/Dome of the Rock

We were also able to do a little unscheduled exploring before dinner tonight, and the group of us walked around, down by the ancient Old City wall (built in the 1500s) and saw Herod’s and Damascus Gates. This was where Jesus was lead to his crucifixion, now known as the stations of the cross.

We stopped into a shop run by an Armenian family (Armenian Catholics represent a small population of Jerusalem today, many still residing in the Old City) where we spoke with the proprietor about bargaining, Armenia, the Jerusalem cross and the city itself. He also told us a little about the stations of the cross, and Station #5 is located right outside of his shop.

For those of you who didn’t grow up Catholic (even for those, like myself, who did and need a refresher course), station #5 is where Jesus began to falter for a second time and rested his hand upon a stone. That Connecting with Jesusstone is still there, and visitors and pilgrims are able to touch it. Directly experiencing that piece of history was so meaningful to me, despite having left the Catholic church years ago. I even took a picture with it!

It has been an a huge learning experience for me already: seeing first hand some of the persecution that the Palestinians have endured since the 1967 Six Day War. The Palestinians have been relegated to small villages, literally fenced in with their roads blocked so they cannot travel (driving or walking) on the same road as the Jews. It drew many parallels for me with racial segregation in the United States.

I want to update more about what I saw today and my impressions, but I am being consumed by jet lag. I do want to add one note about my blog over the next two weeks: these are just my impressions on what I’ve seen. I don’t lean either way; I am just as pro-Israel as I am pro-Palestine. I realize that there are far more than two sides to this whole conflict and anything mentioned here should not be regarded as my firm belief in any one argument. Each and every person and ancestry has suffered and gained a great deal over the genesis of this sacred land, and can be just as culpable as the next.

Tomorrow we will be exploring more of Jerusalem, so look out for more pictures on my Flickr page!


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kate says:

    Dear Heather – Thanks for sharing your experience with all of us. Although I am not there, I feel connected by reading your thoughts and comments regarding your journey. Having them written by someone that I personally know, provides a context that I never seem to get from the news. And yes, no doubt this will alter your life in some way. So proud of you! Be safe and travel on………

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Kim Constantine says:

    Heather my love, thank you for your beautifully written account of your first days in Israel. I don’t know much about the area, but it is intersting and fun to see it through your eyes. I am so proud of what you have done to get to the place you are today (figuratively and literally) May your travels be safe and fulfilling. Love, Mom

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Carrie Polansky says:

    This is awesome, Heather. Visiting Jerusalem was one of the best experiences of my life, so I love that you’re doing this. It sounds like it’s been a great experience so far!

    Just one comment, in response to The Palestinians have been relegated to small villages, literally fenced in with their roads blocked so they cannot travel (driving or walking) on the same road as the Jews. I know the point your making, and it’s correct; however, just remember that not all Palestinians are Muslims and not all Israelis are Jews. So making a comparison between Palestinians and Jews isn’t quite accurate. A lot of Jews don’t like being equated with Israelis (or the Israeli government), so even if it doesn’t seem like a big distinction, I just wanted to point out that it is one.

    I look forward to reading about the rest of your travels!

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 7 months ago
  4. * thomassh21 says:

    Stumbled across your chance the other and read all your posts from your trip to Jerusalem and the West Bank. Genuinely fascinating. I’m a Brit living in Jerusalem, moved here recently to live with my Israeli girlfriend. Found that many of your views of arriving to this conflict-ridden region mirrored many of my own. I especially enjoyed your attempt to not offend either side of the political/religious divide – a near-impossible task to be honest. With my liberal standings it can be hard to not viewed as anti-Israeli or pro-Palestinian whenever I try engage in a political debate with any Israeli (my girlfriend included).

    Also the trip you went on sounded amazing. How was it arranged? Although I live in Jerusalem popping over to the West Bank is not the easiest thing the world. I would dearly love to experience some of the places you’ve seen, but have no idea how I would go about it independently.

    Good Luck with your studies.

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 6 months ago


Leave a comment