Falling Feet First



Finding Reassurance in Israel

We all need confirmation in our lives; reassurance that we’re on the right path and following the best dream. I’ve posted before about questioning my stance in life, wondering if I had really found my purpose. So to reassert what I’ve thought to be my future livelihood, I’m going back to the start. Everyone’s start.

Tomorrow afternoon I leave for a two-week trip to Israel and Palestine. I will be joining a group of eight others from the Unitarian Universalists for Justice in the Middle East, traveling the West Bank and northern part of the country to learn more about the conflict and occupation. We’ll be meeting with peace advocates, academics, government officials (from both sides), refugees, and Israeli and Palestinian citizens to understand the climate and work towards finding the bricks to build a roadway to peace.

This isn’t a “mission” per say; there is no conversion involved. But I see it as a public diplomacy trip – one emulating the UN. I hope we can glean (and leave) a bit of cultural understanding.

The trip will reinvigorate my soul and goals; reasserting that international affairs (along with public policy) with a focus on the Middle East is where I want my path to lead. I expect my life to be completely changed within the course of the next two weeks; my eyes reopened, my intellect challenged, my sense of justice ignited.

I will be repurposing Falling Feet First for the next two weeks to recount my trip: the sights, sounds, smells and experiences, complete with pictures. Armed with my brand new Nikon D60 (thanks Mom and Dad!), I will capture this culture and next step in life.

Perhaps we all don’t need to leave the country to find reassurance, but this unique opportunity has posed itself at just the right time.

Please keep me in your thoughts for safe travels over the next two weeks – I’ll carry them with me like a flame.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Erika says:

    I hope this is a wonderful trip. For the past two weeks I have been reading about media in the Arab world for one of my classes. I believe that that part of the world is extremely misunderstood from our eyes! I hope this trip is eye opening!

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 7 months ago


Leave a comment